Purple Vintage Space Princess reports: Have you heard of the HALF MAN HALF TREE?

October 21, 2008 at 6:01 am 2 comments

The Purple Vintage Space Princess says:

I don’t even really know what to say…
Half Man Half Tree

 

My mother’s friend told her to watch the TLC channel because there was a documentary on about a man who was “half  tree” as the subject matter. Excuse me…. come again, WHAT??????Of course when one hears something like this it sounds completely unbelievable, unreal!. I mean: HOW ON EARTH COULD A HUMAN BEING PARTIALLY ALSO BE A GROWING TREE?!?!?!?!
My sister and I took the liberty of watching part 1 & 2 of the documentary on youtube last night and I am still in shock. 
The gentleman in the photo named Dede is from indonesia and he suffers from an extremely rare condition to where he is growing warts all over his body at an unexplainable rate. His hands and feet are surrounded by these warts to the point that they are weighing him down and seem to havea  bark & tree limb like structure and texture. He developed this condition when he was 15 and is now 36 years old. The disease is now taking over his face and he is terrified that it will start to cover his entire face preventing him to see or to even breathe.
His story is so heartbreaking. He has two children that he can’t even care for due to his condition.
Half Man Half Tree
After the first two episodes I had to take a break because it was far too emotional for me. What some people in this world have gone through and have to go through. We have to be so strongin life sometimes. How is he surviving? It seems almost impossible!!!
I left off when there was a doctor from the U.S who had heard of his disease and came down to observe him and to ultimately help him. I have to gather up my strength and will power to watch the rest.
WILL HE BE CURED? WILL HE RECEIVE ASSISTANCE???  

Watch an overview of his condition in this video:
 

I pray that he finds the help that he deserves.

WHAT ARE YOU THOUGHTS ON THE HALF MAN HALF TREE?

Please leave a comment and share!

xoxoxo

Entry filed under: CBS, facebook, half man half tree, NBC, Youtube. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

"She’s Purple" The Purple Vintage Space Princess Cat Eyes & Vision boards!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mich  |  November 7, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    OMG i totally watched this show and it was heart breaking! but at the same time…. he didint get the help at the end like he could have… so sad.

    Reply
  • 2. purplevintagespaceprincess  |  November 7, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    OH NOOOOOOOOO!!!!! 😦 My heart is breaking AGAIN! I couldn’t bring myself to finish it (I’m still taking a long pause from it) I can’t believe that he wasn’t able to be helped!!!!!!! That just makes me want to cry. How horrible… 😦

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of Purple Vintage Space Princess News & GIVEAWAYS by email.

Join 12 other subscribers

Read The Purple Vintage Space Princess STYLE BLOG “Tales From My Wardrobe” on Kaboodle

Photobucket

Listen to The Purple Vintage Space Princess

Listen to The Purple Vintage Space Princess Photobucket

Visit Purple Vintage Space Princess on Modepass: PVSpaceprincess

Purple Vintage Space Princess Archives

Feeds

All TEXT, DESIGN, MUSIC, IMAGES & WRITINGS are all copyrighted! don’t even think about it…

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape
Purple Vintage Space Princess Mammi-Ama Ofori

November with The Purple Vintage Space Princess

October 2008
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

All material and media of Purple Vintage Space Princess is protected under the Creative Commons License.